Thoughts From the Sauna…


I was sitting in the sauna contemplating all manner of things this evening. It’s the first of January. It’s the beginning of this project I’ve set my mind to. Half of my brain is congratulating myself on doing something so awesome while the other half is screaming at me in a strong New York accent, “What’s wrong with you?! Have you lost your friggin’ mind?”

Then started the inner dialogue…

output_yolas7Voice of wisdom: “Well…now that you’ve started this you gotta take a picture of yourself…you know…a  full body shot. How else will you keep track of the progress you’ve made?

Inner devils advocate: “Are you kidding? A full body shot? Girl..no one needs to see that, especially the whole wide internet.”

I have to say…both inner voices have a valid point. I’m not sure which one will win out in the end. There’s something terrifying about making this all so terribly public but it’s also awesomely awesome. In any case, I’ll just take it one day at a time. While sitting in the sauna, I really began to think about what I’m getting myself into. How many times a week will I write? Good lord….what will I write about? Will I be able to do this every single day? So I’ve got this much worked out, I won’t be writing every day. I think that would be overkill, don’t you? I figure, every Sunday with an update with the things I’ve done. As for the rest of it, I’m going to wing it.

I did my first Yogaia session of the year tonight. I took part in the Yoga Nidra class. The class lasted 25 minutes and it was a lot of visualisation this time around. I love Yoga Nidra. It’s so relaxing but this evening I found that my yoga mat was less than comfortable so I spent a lot of time trying to move my hiney (that’s a word right?) around to get comfy. Note to self, get a thicker mat for Yoga Nidra.

screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-21-58-32

Rishin
Poanaskar

If you’ve not had a class with Rishin Poanaskar, I totally recommend it. He’s a fantastic teacher. The picture on the left was taken from the Yogaia site. I hope I won’t get in trouble for using it. Anyway, Rishin always offers good alternatives if certain positions feel too difficult or if you have existing injuries. I always feel like I get something out his classes. The Yoga Nidra was lovely but he also teachers a lovely Vinyasa Flow class (which I’m ashamed to say I haven’t participated in for about 6 months). I need consistency in my life people!

I have a few “go to” teachers and I’m sure I’ll be writing about them all at some point. One class down and 364 to go. I’m on my way!

Leave a Reply

