I Might be an Enabler…


If you’ve read last weeks post, you’ll know that I was struck down by a pretty evil flu virus. thermometer-temperature-fever-fluThat bug had me flat on my back for about a week. I just went back to work this past Thursday and that was a challenge. I was so tired and worn out and the quality of my sleep wasn’t good. I don’t know about you but I usually get nightmares when I’m sick. If you pair that up with a stuffy nose and a pretty bad cough, sleep wasn’t the best it could be.

It’s pretty rare that I’m sick and rarer still that the bug would wear me out to the point that I didn’t want to move at all. I’m pretty hard to keep still so this week of illness was pretty educational. Here are some things I learned:

  • The children didn’t starve to death even though I didn’t cook
  • There was food in the house, even though I didn’t go shopping
  • The house didn’t explode
  • My husband is pretty darn awesome
  • The work I wasn’t able to do while I was gone didn’t go to def con 5
  • Rum and hot cocoa is a kick ass combination

In essence, the world didn’t stop without me to move things along. This was an “ah ha” moment for me. How much of my own stress am I actually creating?? I mean really? Am I a stress enabler? Holy crap…I might be my own worst enemy.

As I started to get better and my brain started working again, the anxiety monster came to hang out with me again. After a week of being rid of the anxiety monster, it kind of made me think. My anxiety monster doesn’t say much but sits a whole lot of dread on my shoulders. Makes me worry about the stuff I might have forgotten or the things I have yet to do. He kind of comes and goes and isn’t always constant but I sure would like to find a way to get rid of him for good. I know for a fact that my life is pretty good and more stable than it’s been in a long time. I really don’t have anything to fear, so why the dread? I’ll let you know if I ever figure that one out.

It was another slow yoga week. I’m just physically not back to full strength yet. Here’s what I did over the past week:

  1. Sunday 8 Jan: Yoga Nidra, Craig Norris
  2. Monday 9 Jan: Yoga Nidra, Craig Norris
  3. Tuesday 10 Jan: Pause. Breathe. Meditate, James Huxley
  4. Wednesday 11 Jan: Yoga Nidra , Craig Norris and Pranayama – Mindful Breathing, Charlie Merton
  5. Thursday 12 Jan: Yoga Nidra, Craig Norris
  6. Friday 13 Jan: Year of You 11: Mindful Meditation, James Huxley
  7. Saturday 14 Jan: Year of Your 11: Mindful Meditation, James Huxley (kind of sunday as it went over the midnight mark but that counts right?)
screen-shot-2017-01-15-at-21-56-16

James Huxley

I’ve already talked about Craig Norris in previous posts. Great teacher…but I gotta sing the praises of James Huxley and Charlie Merton.  James is a very experienced teacher. I’ve usually done his Good Night Yoga, Meditations and Yoga Nidra but this man is no light weight. I tried one of his flow classes and it about killed me. Totally insane. I tried his flow class in my early days and did it live. I put on my bravest face but man I crawled to bed muttering something about dying after that class.  I’ll have to try his flow classes again when I’ve got a few more demanding courses under my belt and see if it feels any different. I laughed at myself after that class and faced the fact that I was definitely on level one. Everyone has to start somewhere right?

screen-shot-2017-01-15-at-21-56-32

Charlie Merton

I just love Charlie Merton. I’ve usually done her Yin Yoga. I swear thats some of the most relaxing stuff you’ll ever get into. Yin Yoga has gentle poses that are held for longer and they really help to open you up your muscles and relax. I have some sore hip flexors and the stretches that Charlie takes us through really help with that. One of the things I love about Charlie is that she talks through her classes. I know some people don’t dig that but I really do. She’s full of great pointers and bits of wisdom. She often shares things she’s read about that inspire her on a daily basis. I find that when she’s talking all the time, it takes my mind of the long stretch and the class just flies by. The Yin Yoga usually lasts about an hour but it’s worth every minute. Check her out if you get the chance. This last week I didn’t do any of her Yin Yoga classes but I did her mindful breathing class. It was 10 minutes but it helped to avert a mild panic attack this week. I’m not actually sure if it was a mild panic attack or not. I was having difficulties breathing. It might have just been the flu I’d had or stress or a bit of both. In any case, this 10 minute class helped to slow and deepen my breathing.

So to sum up, I don’t need to do it all. I don’t need to be everything to everyone. I can leave some stuff alone and the world will go right on spinning. I’ve also removed my work e-mail from my iPad so I don’t check it when I’m off work. I don’t need to be thinking about work when I’m hanging around with my family. I’m trying not to check Facebook before going to bed either but baby steps people…baby steps.

Leave a Reply

