Limits, Limitations and Being Limitless


Let me start off with a teeny apology. I totally forgot to add last weeks yogaia sessions to the end of the blog post as I usually do. I guess I had a bit of a brain fart so I went and added it today so you can see what I’ve been up to. Some more variety in there! I even got some of my colleagues at work interested in yogaia and we’ve tried some office stretching together. All the dudes disappeared though. Why don’t guys like stretching?

This week has been completely random and I realised that I’ve been living a week at a time and living for the weekend. “I can’t wait till the week is over. I can’t wait for the weekend”. How sad is that? We rush through life just trying to get from one weekend to the next. If life has taught me anything, it’s that any day could be your last. I want to try to enjoy every stinking moment of my life rather than living for the weekend. It reminds me of the song by Loverboy, Working for the weekend.

Anxiety has controlled so much of my life. I’ve usually just tried to survive each day and each week. I want to get to the point where I wake up and say “Hell yeah mo fo! It’s a new frickin’ day!” I’ve been trying to bring more joy into my life. After all, we’re all more than those we’re connected to. I think it’s easy to limit ones self to being wife and mother for instance. You don’t do the things you want to because you have “responsibilities”. How many decide not to take up painting or sky diving because they have to take care of “responsibilities”. Don’t get me wrong, kids need love and so does your significant other but I think many of us forget to nurture ourselves. Do we lose some of our identity when we become parents or part of a couple? It seems to me that we limit ourselves by what we think is expected of us by society.

I want to strive to be limitless and do all the things I enjoy (within reason of course). That’s one of the reasons I took up electric bass lessons. It’s something I’ve wanted to do for ages but just never did it. I’m also looking into finding a band to play in again. I really enjoy those things so why shouldn’t I do them? The kids have hobbies so why can’t I? So where are my limits? I’ve been defined by limits for so long! There were times where I couldn’t even go out to eat with friends because I’d have anxiety issues! I was always limited to the familiar. I couldn’t go to the movies or do fun things without feeling sick. That’s no way to live. I can tell you from experience. It’s been getting better day by day. The past couple of weeks have been so crazy that I’ve been pretty close to my stress threshold  a time or two but I’ve, so far, been able to dial it back. This past Friday, I did more than I ever thought I could. I had a full day of work complete with meetings and chaos, a goodbye lunch for a colleague, long work day, then straight to bass lessons and from there out to dinner with friends. I was home at 11pm. A year ago, that would have been completely impossible. In Yoga Nidra, we’re supposed to think of a San Culpa or affirmation. For the past couple of weeks my San Culpa has been “I’m a limitless being that manifests all I desire on this physical plane”. I haven’t really been thinking about my limits until just recently.

I guess it’s time to reassess my limits or lack thereof. This, peeps, is a good thing. I think I can call this progress. I should have a counter…you know….’x’ number of days since my last panic attack. I think my last one was in December some time.

  • Sunday: Pause. Breathe. Meditate with James Huxley
  • Monday: Yoga Nidra with Craig Norris
  • Tuesday: Yoga Nidra with Craig Norris
  • Wednesday: Yoga Nidra with Craig Norris
  • Thursday: Take a guess 😉
  • Friday: Pause. Breathe. Meditate. with James Huxley
  • Saturday: Pause. Breathe. Meditate with James Huxley and Yoga Nidra with Craig Norris.

I’m not sure how I feel about Craig Norris these days. I think I’ve had Craig Norris overload. I really like yoga Nidra but it’s so rare that anyone other than Craig teaches the course. Do I dare try to have a Craig Norris free week? That would be a heck of a challenge as I really enjoy Yoga Nidra. I’m not making plans at this point. I’m just going with the flow and doing what my body and mind ask of me. I find it’s easier not to fight it.

c565681e2fb72c0e61f6a49690e54320On a random tangent, I’d really love to explore Reiki. Reiki is defined as, “a healing technique based on the principle that the therapist can channel energy into the patient by means of touch, to activate the natural healing processes of the patient’s body and restore physical and emotional well-being.”

I’m not sure what it’s all about or how it works but it sounds really cool and I’d like to learn more. Who wants to take Reiki lessons with me?

2 thoughts on “Limits, Limitations and Being Limitless

  1. Hi Alison,

    Great text! I am currently pondering the same issues. Everyday should be exititing and relaxing as weekens. Also, it’s time to test my own limits and set some new to protect my happiness.

    Important things to think.

    • Hi Maarit! Thanks! I think everyone’s happiness should come first :). Somehow I think that when I’m happy, I’m also able to treat my friends and family better too. I just hope I don’t push too hard too soon. It’s hard to know how much I can do without my body freaking out.

Leave a Reply

