Simplification…


beautiful-sunday-logoIt’s another beautiful Sunday. I’m not even being sarcastic. I’ve just had the whole week off from work.

Usually I write down ideas that come to me during the week…deep thoughts…feelings and general goofiness that I want to share with you. This week, I had no deep thoughts. I was too busy getting things done but as I sat there on the couch sipping a glass of Rosé wine on this fine Sunday evening, it occurred to me what I’d been doing all week and what the overall theme of the week had been. I’ve been decluttering. I’ve been decluttering my mind and my house of extraneous things! I spent some of the week doing some brainless relaxing but a lot of the week was spent cleaning, decluttering and remodelling our house.

On the first day of my holiday I checked my work e-mail. Isn’t that terrible?! After I realised I’d been thinking on work, I made the mindful decision that I would not check work e-mail or give it a second thought until I returned to work on Monday. Whatever e-mail messages I received would be just fine without my attention for the next several days. Making that decision was very liberating. I essentially decluttered my brain. It must have been a catalyst for more decluttering because I began to clean out my house. I started putting things up for sale online. I still have baby clothes from my kids! My oldest is almost 12 and my youngest just turned 9. It is high time to get those baby clothes outta here! I also got rid of other odds and ends that just took up space in my house. I did marathon runs of laundry and ironing. In short, I think unconsciously, I had the drive to simplify my life.

I am of the opinion that we’re a society that thinks we need too much. We feel we need more information, more kitchen gadgets, more clothes…just….more. I don’t know about you but it seems that the more I have, thoughts included, the more stressed out I am. The joy of the purchase is usually short lived. The joy is then usually replaced by stress.

Where am I going to keep this stuff? Why is my house so messy? I don’t have room for all of this!

The same can be said for thoughts. The more I think about and the more I feel I have to accomplish, the more stressful it seems to be. I spent this week doing a hella crazy amount of work, including a trip to the dentist yet again for a filling…thats another story) but I’m happy about it. All the stuff I’ve done didn’t stress me out. Looking back on this past week, I realise that my mind was completely empty! I did the things I did just for the sake of doing them and gave the tasks no real thought or feeling. Usually I’m itemising my thoughts and the things I have to do for the week but this past week, I didn’t. I have to say that it’s a real first. I had no resentment of anyone for not helping or exhaustion from thinking of the things I shoulda, woulda, coulda done because I gave the tasks I did this week absolutely no thought. I did them for the sake of doing them. Perhaps all of this meditation I’m doing is having some effect. I realise I’m doing a lot of this meditation type stuff but I’m not sorry. I feel, at least today, that my brain, body and me are starting to find some kind of common ground. It used to feel as though my brain and body were betraying me and letting me down on the regular but they all seem to have found some kind of balance. Part of me is scared that this is just a truce…you know…like military factions might have during the Christmas holidays. I really hope this truce between mind, body and soul is a lasting peace because man…..I like it here.

  • Sunday: Yoga Nidra with Craig Norris
  • Monday: Pause. Breathe. Meditate. with James Huxley
  • Tuesday: Yoga Nidra with Craig Norris
  • Wednesday: Yoga Nidra with Craig Norris
  • Thursday: Yoga Nidra with Craig Norris
  • Friday: Yoga Nidra with Craig Norris
  • Saturday: Yoga Nidra with Craig Norris

Empty your minds (empty them….don’t clean them up you dirty minded beauties!). I start to realise that nothing really needs to get done. I’m breathing and that’s enough.

Leave a Reply

