Weirdness Upon Weirdness


Ok…so I started the Reiki course today. I don’t know what I expected but it wasn’t what I expected. We spent 3 hours talking. We talked about all manner of things, not just Reiki.  It was completely and utterly freeing. I feel like I let go of so many things. I got a confirmation of a lot of things…that I’m not the only one experiencing stuff. I actually teared up in the end. Tomorrow is the activation. I can hardly wait. I’m excited to see what comes out of it. If nothing else, the whole experience is sure to be cathartic. If I can learn to let some stuff go, it’s already a win win situation. The other people in the group are just lovely. We all ended up there for different reasons but wow. The teacher said that we give and pull a lot of energy. I am inclined to believe her. It was a very amazing experience.

One thing that really stayed with me was her description of energy. She talked about giving energy in Reiki. In Qigong, the person builds up lots of energy and then uses it to heal others for instance but in doing so, they release the energy, giving it all away. In Reiki, the energy is exchanged rather than just given. It was her metaphor that caught my attention. “Using energy is like breathing. You cannot just breathe out. You must also breathe in.” I really took that to heart. When we give too much in life…we are also just breathing out. At some point, we have to take a breath. Interesting stuff right?

The teacher said we’d probably have some crazy dreams tonight and that we should drink lots of water. I’ll keep you posted.

The weeks yoga:

  • Sunday: Drop into Stillness
  • Monday: Vinyasa Foundations
  • Tuesday: Yoga Nidra
  • Wednesday: Yoga Nidra
  • Thursday: Yoga Nidra
  • Friday: Yoga Nidra
  • Saturday: Yoga Nidra

I feel like my brain is on temporary holiday. I have no tidbits of wisdom or deep thoughts today. I think I used them all during the Reiki class. I cannot wait to tell you how the rest of it goes! If I get another tool to help me balance out my body and deal with stress, it will be worth every penny.

Leave a Reply

